Nuns with Guns by Seth Kaufman

FacebookTwitterGoogle

Nuns With Guns

“A smart, witty and engrossing satire! Kaufman is a wonderfully sharp-eyed observer of modern American lunacies.” —Zoë Heller, Notes on a Scandal

Out-of-control producer Rick Salter wants to leave reality TV, get married and make movies. But it’s not easy. When a senseless murder touches his life, Rick enlists his pal Sister Rosemarie to make Nuns with Guns, a TV series about four sisters competing to collect the most firearms. Protests and death threats pile up as the nuns travel the country running gun exchanges. Propelled by the show’s spirited stars and crazy stunts — and the shadow of death that looms over every episode — the series becomes a smash hit. As Rick pushes the envelope, trying to save America from itself, a question emerges: Who will save Rick?

Sure to appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen and Kurt Vonnegut — as well fans of Seth Kaufman’s acclaimed debut novel The King of Pain — this brutally funny book explores deadly national issues by deftly balancing satire with anxiety and insight. The result is a hilarious and harrowing must-read!

“Literary gold! The year’s best new reality TV show concept is actually a book — Nuns with Guns. It’s as hilarious as it sounds.” – Radaronline

“Rick is a charismatic antihero bolstered by credible side characters, and in the midst of Kaufman’s sardonic humor, there rings out an earnest outcry for gun reform.”– Publishers Weekly

Nuns with Guns possesses crackerjack writing, social relevance, crossover appeal, and it’s really damn funny … Kaufman has done the impossible: he’s turned a foul-mouthed, PR-savvy, manipulative, selfish, and occasionally self-righteous reality show producer into a heroic figure. Highly, highly recommended. Even if you’re a member of the NRA and love those guns, you would also find this an enjoyable novel.” — Chicago Center for Literature and Photography

“A hilarious, moving sequel… one of the most relevant novels, timely novels you’ll read this year.” —Downtown Magazine

“Kaufman’s humor and scope in Nuns with Guns is more vibrant than the pure satire ofThe King of Pain. He’s not making fun of America here so much as trying to improve it.”—Tom Rayfiel, In Pinelight